Histoire du Tango

by Astor Piazzolla

for clarinet and orchestra in four movements



Tree different orchestrations are available:
  • solo clarinet and symphony orchestra
  • solo clarinet, strings, oboe, flute, clarinet, bassoon, harp, marimba
  • solo clarinet and strings


Listen to:

  1. Bordel 1900
  2. Café 1930
  3. Nightclub 1960
  4. Concert Aujourd'hui

[total time 24:00 min]

Andy Miles - clarinet and the WDR Funkhaus Orchestra Cologne



Live at "Klaus von Bismarck Saal" Funkhaus Cologne. WDR Funkhaus Orchestra under Klaus Sallmann in november 2009. And some photos during the recording session with Fernando Rios Palacio, Roberto di Rosa, Tito Cava, Juraj Cismarovic and Arauco Orellana.




The Suite "Histoire du Tango" takes a special position in the Piazzolla work. Piazzolla uses the form of the baroque suite. The four movements "Bordel 1900", "Cafe 1930", "Nightclub 1960" and "Concert Aujourd'hui" are programmatic titles.

In the first movement "Bordel 1900" he uses the idiom of the traditional tango of the early 1900s. In "Café 1930" the harmony is already much more complicated and more extensive - as one has heard in tango cafes. In the 1960s the tango had developed again, the "Tango Nuevo" was socially compatible. In the last movement of the Aujourd'hui concerto, Piazzolla musically describes the development of tangos. Here one can hear distinct elements of Bartok and Stravinsky.